((L to R: Cevidanes, Ono, Huynh, S. Smith and T. Smith.)

COSA decided the winners of the Milo Hellman Research Award, the Harry Sicher Research Award and the Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit at its January 2014 meeting. The winners will present their research at the 2014 AAO Annual Session on Monday, April 28 starting at 2:10pm at the Convention Center Room 353. The winners are:
Milo Hellman Research Award
Integrating Biology and Imaging of Temporomandibular Joint Health and Disease
Lucia HS Cevidanes, DDS, MS, PhD
University of Michigan
Harry Sicher Research Award
PTH/PTHrP Receptor Signaling in Osterix-Expressing Progenitors Is Essential for Root Formation
Wanida Ono, DDS, PhD
Harvard Medical School
Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit
Osteoclast-Derived Exosomes: Novel Regulators of Bone Remodeling and Markers of Resorption
Nancy Huynh, DDS, MS
University of Florida
Local Delivery of Recombinant RANKL Protein Enhances Root Resorption and Orthodontic Tooth Movement in Sprague-Dawley Rats
Sarah M. Smith, DMD, MS
University of Michigan
Mesio-Distal Tip and Facio-Lingual Torque Outcomes in Computer-Assisted Orthodontic Treatment
Tharon L. Smith, DDS, MS
University of Illinois - Chicago